Crash Summary Statistics: Florida 2015
|Crashes with Traffic Fatalities:||2,645|
|Total Traffic Fatalities||2,871|
|Commercial Vehicle Crashes:||38,182|
|Property Damage Crashes:||211,466|
*Taken from http://www.flhsmv.gov
Main causes of Auto Accidents in Florida
- Drinking and Driving
- Hit and Run
- Distracted Driving
- Teen Drivers
- Drowsy Driving
Florida has seen the number of Hit and Run crashes remain fairly steady over the years. Although the majority of Hit and Run crashes only result in property damage, more than 180 people were killed in hit and run crashes in 2015.
A few hit and run facts for Florida*:
- In 2015, there were more than 92,000 hit and run crashes in Florida.
- Of those, the Florida Highway Patrol worked more than 23,000.
- Each year the percent of hit and run crashes stays steady, which means the problem of people fleeing the scene isn’t getting better.
- There were more than 19,000 injuries resulting from hit and run crashes, with over 1,200 of those involving serious bodily injury.
- Vulnerable road users are particularly at risk. In fact, of the 186 hit and run fatalities in 2015, over half were pedestrians.
- In approximately one out of every four pedestrian crashes, the driver left the scene.
- Under Florida law, a driver MUST stop immediately at the scene of a crash on public or private property which results in injury or death.
- More than 80 percent of hit and run crashes result in property damage only.
- If a driver flees the scene, the situation becomes much worse for that driver. Leaving the scene of a crash is a felony and a driver, when convicted, will have their license revoked for at least three years and can be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of four years in prison.
- In 2015, 18-27 year olds received over a third of all hit and run citations issued, 70 percent of these were males.
Road Safety Tips
- Don’t Drink and Drive
-Make a plan to get home when the party is over.
-Buckle Up. A seatbelt is your vehicle’s most important safety feature, but it only works if you use it.
-If you are a designated driver, do not drink. One drink is one too many.
-If you’re impaired and did not designate a driver, use a taxi, call a sober friend or family member, or use public transportation so you are sure to get home safely.
-If you happen to see a impaired driver on the road, don’t hesitate to contact local law enforcement or dial *FHP (*347). This call could save a life.
-If you know people who are about to drive while impaired, take their keys and help them make other arrangements to get to where they are going safely.
-Remember that possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle (in motion or stopped) by the driver and or the passenger(s) is a violation of Florida law.
- Share the Road
With its warm weather and scenic coastal highways, Florida is a popular place for motorcyclists, bicyclists and pedestrians. All motorists should use courtesy when driving. After all, the road belongs to everyone.
- Use Extreme Caution When Driving in Inclement Weather Conditions
Use extreme caution when driving in smoke and fog. Visibility can change within seconds. Freezing rain and ice are road hazards that Florida motorists seldom encounter, but such conditions can and have occurred in the state. Avoid driving in heavy storms, and stay in a safe place until the storm has passed.
- Be a Safe Driver Even During Vacation and Holiday Travel
Whether traveling across country or across town, whether it’s summer vacation or a holiday trip to visit family or friends, it is important to keep safety in mind. Whatever the season, whatever the reason, make it a safe and fun trip.
- Don’t leave the scene of an accident
The most important thing a driver can do when they are involved in a crash is to remain at the scene and call for help. Staying at the scene will not only spare a driver significant legal penalties, but may save a life. Also, if you have information on a hit and run crash vehicle and/or driver, you can report it anonymously to Crime Stoppers. And if you or a loved one has been a victim of a Hit and Run, contact Auto Accident Attorneys of Naples, FL.
- Move Over
Florida law requires you to Move Over a lane — when you can safely do so — for stopped emergency, sanitation, utility service vehicles and wreckers. If you can’t move over — or when on a two-lane road — slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. Slow down to 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less. When you fail to Move Over, you put yourself and others at risk; you could crash into a vehicle or worker. Violating the Move Over law will result in a fine, fees, and points on your driving record. For more information, see Florida Statute 316.126
Auto Insurance Guide
Buying car insurance for the first time can be an overwhelming task. Insurance companies offer wide varieties of packages; and it’s hard to know which elements are necessary for your lifestyle. In order to pick a plan that fits your budget and keeps your mind at ease, consult this auto insurance guide. Find out what you’re really paying for.
Bodily Injury Coverage
Bodily injury coverage protects you from liability and pays for personal injuries which you may cause to someone else. If the accident was your fault, bodily injury coverage will protect you from injury claims which may made by passengers in your vehicle or others who may be injured in the accident.
Comprehensive coverage pays for specified damages to your car, such as those resulting from falling objects, fire, explosion, vandalism, or theft. Make sure to read up on any exclusions or limitations specified by your policy to make sure you’re fully covered.
Collision coverage pays for any damage to your car resulting from an accident. You can collect under your own collision coverage whether or not you were at fault.
Medical payments coverage
Coverage on medical payments will pay for medical expenses for a designated period of time following the accident, up to your policy’s dollar limits. This also includes funeral expenses. Payments are made regardless of who is to blame for the accident. Medical payments will cover you and whoever else is in your car.
Uninsured/Under-insured motorist coverage
Unfortunately, many people will drive without insurance. Uninsured motorist coverage will cover you and your passengers if you are hit by a driver who has no insurance or too little insurance to pay for the full amount of your injuries. Hit-and-run drivers may be classified as uninsured motorists if no one can identify the driver.
Uninsured motorist economic-only coverage
This coverage is the same as uninsured motorist coverage except that it covers only the actual costs of injuries to you and the occupants of your vehicle. Pain and suffering will not be included under this coverage.
Uninsured/Under-insured motorist property damage coverage
This coverage provides for repairs to your vehicle if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. You will have to choose a set deductible that corresponds with a recovery amount for this coverage. If your policy includes collision insurance, this coverage is not available.
Towing and labor coverage
Towing and labor coverage pays for towing costs and labor costs when your car is disabled. Most automobile policies limit this coverage to $25 per tow, and some companies will not offer these services for older cars.
This service will pay for a rental car if you are forced to use one after an accident. Be aware of policy limits and ask the representative whether or not your insurance company has a list of preferred car rental companies.
It is very important to have insurance coverage in the event of an accident. However, if you have an accident, do not accept an insurance company’s first offer of settlement. An insurance company first offer, often does not account for all aspects of your claim. Call a lawyer at Auto Accident Attorneys of Naples, Florida and get fully compensated.